Monday, July 15, 2024
Home Industry GMG Radio Awards 2004 announced

GMG Radio Awards 2004 announced

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

GMG Radio Awards 2004 Announced
The New Hilton Hotel in Newcastle played host on Saturday 4 December to the GMG Radio awards 2004, where all five GMG radio stations challenged each other for the titles of the year.

For the second time in the awards three year history, Real Radio Scotland walked away with the prestigious award of Station of the year.

102.2 JAZZ FM?s breakfast show host, Jon Scragg was delighted with his award for Best Breakfast show after steep competition from all three Real stations and Chris Best on the newly launched Smooth FM.

Scoop of the year went to Real Radio Wales? news team for its coverage of the Caroline Dickinson trial, although not far behind was Real Radio Scotland?s news team who won a special award for their coverage of the Maryhill Disaster story.

After the success of the Real Radio Fugitive earlier this year, all 3 Real Radio stations won the award for best on-air promotion.

Dave Lincoln, Nicky Horne, Jay Crawford and Dave Bowen all received a Special Award for 30 years in broadcasting.

GMG Radio Chief Executive John Myers said: ?It?s been another wonderful year for GMG Radio. Our people are at the heart of the business and it?s our opportunity to thank those who have excelled this year. Real Scotland were runaway winners overall but all our stations are showing remarkable growth across the year.

Billy Anderson, Managing Director Real Radio Scotland added: ?In a group that is doing so well it?s a wonderful achievement for Real Radio Scotland to be voted station of the year for 2004. I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone within Real Radio Scotland and indeed GMG Radio for their hard work and commitment over the past year and I look forward to an even more successful 2005?.

Other awards included:

Newcomer of the Year Stephanie Lowery – Real Radio Scotland

Unsung Hero Adelle Bishop – Smooth FM

Journalist of the Year Emma Smith – Real Radio Wales

Special Award Helen Dickinson ? Real Radio Marketing Manager

Scoop of the Year Caroline Dickinson Murder Trial ? Real Radio Wales

Sports Award Sports Team – Real Radio Wales

Best Local Ad West Yorkshire Casualty Reduction Partnership – Real Radio Yorkshire

Best Example of the Creative Led Sell Smooth FM for Maritime Housing Campaign

Highest Biller (%) Kevin McAuley – Real Radio Scotland

Special Award Heather Kane and Scottish News team for the Maryhill Disaster

Salesperson of the year Simon Peters – Real Radio Wales

Best on-air promotion All three Real Radio?s for the Fugitive

Enterprise Award Dan Baxter ? Head of Marketing for Enterprises

Special Award Paul Carter ? 102.2 JAZZ FM

Outstanding Contribution to Programmes Ewen Cameron ? Real Radio Scotland

Specialist Programme The Real George Michael ? Real Radio Yorkshire

Special Award – 30 Years in Broadcasting – Dave Lincoln, Nicky Horne, Jay Crawford, Dave Bowen

Breakfast Show Jon Scragg ? 102.2 JAZZ FM

Group Employee of the Year Clare Esner

Station Employee of the Year Kyle Evans – Real Radio Yorkshire

Station of the Year Real Radio Scotland

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design