Sunday, July 14, 2024
Home Industry Sony Awards – the results

Sony Awards – the results

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

The 2005 Sony Radio Academy Awards have been announced at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London. The event was host to 1200 guests including Ulrika Johnson, Harry Hill, Jon Culshaw, Jono Coleman and Kirsty Gallagher.

BBC Radio 2's Steve Wright was awarded a Gold Award for career achievement, whilst a special award was given to the creators of UK Radio Aid who raised over ?3 million for the tsumani appeal with a special day?s broadcasting across almost 300 commercial radio stations.

The whole event was 'webcast' live around the world via the Radio Academy website (which can be repeated 'on demand' from Tuesday). Paul Gambaccini was the host of the evening.

Here are the results:

The Daily Music Show Of The Year
:: Drivetime with Lucio- Kerrang! 105.2

The Weekly Music Show Of The Year
:: The Selector – FCUK FM

The Breakfast Show Of The Year
:: Christian O'Connell's Breakfast Show – Xfm

The Specialist Music Award
:: Zane Lowe – BBC Radio 1

The Entertainment Award
:: Christian O'Connell's Breakfast Show – Xfm

The `Music Special' Award
:: Teenage Dreams So Hard To Beat – BBC Radio 1

The DJ Of The Year
:: Danny Baker – BBC London 94.9

The Music Broadcaster Of The Year
:: Zane Lowe – BBC Radio 1

The News Programme Of The Year
:: Vote Friction – BBC Radio 1

The News Output Award
:: The Beslan Siege – BBC World Service

The News Story Award
:: The Tsunami – BBC Radio Five Live

The Sports Award
:: City Till I Die- BBC Radio York

The Speech Award
:: Beyond Belief: Islam and Women – BBC Radio 4

The Speech Broadcaster Of The Year
:: Jeremy Vine – BBC Radio 2

The News Journalist Of The Year
:: Eddie Mair (PM) – BBC Radio 4

The Feature Award
:: Missing The Message – BBC Radio 1

The Short Form Feature Award
:: Blind Man's Beauty – BBC Radio 4

The Information Award
:: Unhappy Hour – Viking FM and Magic 1161

The Drama Award
:: Laughter In The Dark – BBC Radio 3

The Comedy Award
:: The Complete and Utter History of the Mona Lisa – BBC Radio 4

The Event Award
:: The Drive Show: D-Day Anniversary – BBC Radio Kent

The Interactive Radio Award
:: Three Counties Breakfast – BBC Three Counties Radio

The Competition Award
:: Christian O'Connell's Rock School – Xfm

The Community Award
:: The Stephen Nolan Show – BBC Radio Ulster

The Station Sound Award
:: Kiss 100

The Promo Award
:: A77 Campaign – West FM, West Sound & SouthWest Sound FM

The Station Programmer Of The Year
:: Richard Maddock – Radio City 96.7

Station Of the Year: Under 300,000
:: BBC Radio Foyle

Station Of the Year: 300,000 -1 million
:: BBC Three Counties Radio

Station Of The Year: 1 million plus
:: Radio City 96.7

UK Station Of The Year
:: BBC Radio 2

Digital Terrestrial Station Of The Year
:: Capital Disney

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design