Saturday, July 20, 2024
Home Hospital Radio Hospital Radio Award Winners

Hospital Radio Award Winners

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

The hospital broadcasting awards 2006 have taken place at The Hilton Hotel in Blackpool during the HBA spring conference weekend. The black tie evening started with a civic reception by the Mayor and Mayoress of Blackpool at 6:30pm followed by the evening meal.

At 9pm the award ceromy commenced hosted by Paul Robinson and Carol Kirkwood. The evening was broadcast live via satellite on WRN and via the internet at Hospital Radio stations around the country broadcast the awards live as part of their special programmes for Hospital Broadcasting Week which kicked-off today.

Many celebreties recorded special messages for the night including Steve Wright, Tobi Anstis and Terry Wogan. Sponsors of the awards PSquared presented one of the awards, along with Radio Wave, IRN, Smooth FM and many more.

In order of announcement on the night, here is a complete list of awards:

Best Promotion or Trailer:
Gold: Isle of Wight Hospital Radio
Silver: Radio Tyneside
Bronze: Hospital Radio Chelmsford

Best Sports Output:
Gold: Radio Cherwell
Silver: Radio Cavell
Bronze: Radio General

Best Newcomer:
Gold: Gerald Conway, Radio Hillingdon
Silver: Tom Bell, Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Bronze: Lyndsey Nuttall, Northern Air

Best Childrens Award:
Gold: Radio Cherwell
Joint Silver: Harrogate Hospital Radio and Luton & Dunstable Hospital Radio

The Special John Whitney Award was presented to Andy Swain from Radio Link for his outstanding contribution to Hospital Broadcasting.

Specialist Music Award:
Gold: Riverside Hospital Radio ‘Night Nurse’
Silver: Bridge FM
Bronze: Grampian Hospital Radio, Touch of Tartan

Best Speech Package:
Gold: Hospital Radio Chelmsford
Silver: Harrogate Hospital Radio
Bronze: Hospital Radio Wey

Best Special Event:
Gold: Radio Cavell
Silver: Harrogate Hospital Radio
Bronze: Radio Redhill

Male Presenter of the Year:
Gold: David Reese, Radio Northwick Park
Silver: Ronnie Costello, Bridge FM
Bronze: John Murrey, Classic VRN

Female Presenter of the Year:
Gold: Diane Clark, Hospital Radio Tunbridge Wells
Silver: Laura Haldane, Classic VRN
Bronze: Samantha Jenkins Holmes, Hospital Radio Chelmsford

Station of the Year:
Gold: Radio Chelmsford
Silver: Radio Redhill
Bronze: Scunthorpe Hospital Radio

The 2007 awards will take place in Northampton. For more pictures from the night visit the members section at HBA website.

Female Presenter of the Year
winner Diane Clark from Hospital Radio Tunbridge Wells collecting her award from
Smooth FM Programme Director Steve Collins

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design