Monday, July 22, 2024
Home Industry IRN Awards 2014 – Nominations Revealed

IRN Awards 2014 – Nominations Revealed

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

The nominations for the IRN Awards 2014 have been announced today, ahead of the awards ceremony in London on March 27th.

There are 10 categories including the new Entertainment Coverage Award, Best Interview and the Student Journalist of the Year. The judges will also honour one individual or news team with the Gold Award which recognises outstanding contribution to the commercial radio industry.

The nominations are below:

Best News Team or Newsroom over 1M TSA
Capital FM East Midlands Capital FM South Wales Hallam FM
Best News Team or Newsroom under 1M TSA
Lincs FM Yorkshire News Team JACK fm Hertfordshire News Team Radio Aire News

Best News Special or Feature
Birmingham Terror – Free Radio
Gothenburg Greats – Northsound 1 and 2
Dale Cregan: Manchester’s Most Wanted – Real Radio North West

Best Interview
Clutha Tragedy: Linda Sinclair interviews Jim Murphy MP – Clyde 1/Clyde 2
Trudy Barker Interview – 96.4 Eagle Radio
Grooming Victim – Hallam FM

Best Entertainment Coverage
Absolute Radio News Team
Bauer North West Showbiz Hub
Global Radio Entertainment Team

Newcomer of the Year
Jordan Moates – Downtown Radio/Cool FM
Amy Woodfield – Heart Four Counties
Tom Swarbrick – LBC 97.3

Student Journalist of the Year
Rosanna Austin – University of Sheffield/Mansfield 103.2
Ben Bason – University Radio York
Dominic Johnson – University of Sheffield/Mansfield 103.2

Newsreader of the Year over 1M TSA
Andrew Bailey – Absolute Radio
Dan Dawson – Free Radio
Corrie Martin – Real Radio Scotland

Newsreader of the Year under 1M TSA
Chris Hubbard – 106 JACK fm Hertfordshire
Mair Thomas – Heart North West and Wales
Sophie Calvert – Metro Radio & TFM

Reporter of the Year
Chris Holdsworth – The Bee/2BR
Michelle Livesey – Key 103
Tom Swarbrick – LBC 97.3

IRN Managing Director Tim Molloy said: “We have had a record number of entries this year, and the standard has been extremely high. It shows that commercial radio has a real talent for connecting with its listeners and keeping them informed and entertained. I wish the nominees the very best of luck.”

IRN Editor and Chair of Judges Dave Terris: “The quality of this year’s entries is a real testimony to the commitment and determination that exists in commercial radio newsrooms. Our panel of experts has been impressed by the high standard of journalism and presentation across all of the categories, so congratulations to all those who’ve been nominated and good luck on March 27th.”

Full coverage of this event will once again be on with Arqiva.

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design