Saturday, July 20, 2024
Home Industry BBC Local Radio awards shortlist announced

BBC Local Radio awards shortlist announced

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

Twenty BBC Local Radio stations have received nominations for this year’s Gillard Awards, with the Station of the Year category between Cambridgeshire, Gloucestershire and WM.

Yorkshire stations BBC Radio Leeds and BBC Radio Sheffield lead the nominations with five each this year. There are also five for BBC Three Counties Radio, although one is a joint award with BBC WM for Iain Lee who presents shows for both stations.
Lee’s nomination gives BBC WM three chances of winning gold, along with Radio Cambridgeshire and Radio Derby who also have three nominations each.
There are two nominations each for Iain Lee (Three Counties/WM), Jonathan Vernon-Smith (Three Counties) and Rony Robinson (Sheffield).
The awards, named after BBC Local Radio founding father Frank Gillard, will be handed out on 6th November in Hull, following the Station of the Year win in 2013 for BBC Radio Humberside. In each category there are three nominees, with prizes for Bronze, Silver and Gold being awarded at the event. Outstanding Contribution Awards will also be announced on the night to recognise outstanding contributions to BBC Local Radio either by individuals or a team.
Best Breakfast Programme (24 entries)
BBC Radio Leeds: Liz Green
BBC Radio Sheffield: Toby Foster
BBC Three Counties Radio: Iain Lee
Best Programme Presenter (28 entries)
BBC Radio Derby: Sally Pepper
BBC Radio Northampton: Bernie Keith
BBC Three Counties Radio and BBC WM: Iain Lee
Original Journalism (16 entries)
BBC Radio Cambridgeshire: Illegal Gangmasters/Airport Safety/Grenoble by bike
BBC Radio Leeds: across the station
BBC Radio Stoke: Stoke’s Adult sex trade
Coverage of a News Story (26 entries)
BBC Radio Sheffield: The Sheffield Half Marathon Cancellation
BBC Somerset: Flooding Coverage
BBC WM: The Trojan Horse Plot
Journalist of the Year (24 entries)
BBC Radio Leeds: Tracey Gee
BBC Tees: Andy Bell
BBC Radio Derby: Chris Doidge
Diversity (15 entries)
BBC Radio Cambridgeshire: Wisbech: is it really Little Latvia?
BBC Radio Leeds: The Listening Project
BBC Three Counties Radio: The Chetan Patak/Yasmeen Khan/Nesta McGregor programmes and Shrinkwrapped
Best Mid-Morning (21 entries)
BBC Radio Gloucestershire: Chris Baxter
BBC Radio Sheffield: Rony Robinson
BBC Three Counties Radio: Jonathan Vernon Smith
The Ultimate Hot Seat (20 entries)
BBC Radio Merseyside: Roger Phillips
BBC Radio Sheffield: Rony Robinson
BBC Three Counties Radio: Jonathan Vernon-Smith
Sport (15 entries)
BBC Radio Leeds: Le Grand Depart
BBC Radio Nottingham: Torvill and Dean return to Sarajevo
BBC Radio Oxford: 60th anniversary of Roger Bannister’s mile in under 4 minutes
Best Programme (33 entries)
BBC Radio Jersey: Letters to a baby Orang-utan
BBC Radio Lincolnshire: Ryan’s Recovery
BBC Radio Sheffield: Auntie and the Miners
Faith (19 entries)
BBC Radio Derby: across the station
BBC Essex: The Cross I Carry
BBC Radio York: Sentamu at Christmas
Station Promotion Campaign (17 entries)
BBC Radio Humberside: Hull City FA Cup
BBC Radio Lincolnshire: Lip Dub Lincoln
BBC Sussex and BBC Surrey: WW 1 At Home
Station of the Year (26 entries)
BBC Radio Cambridgeshire
BBC Radio Gloucestershire

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design