Thursday, July 25, 2024
Home People Four new Radio Academy Fellows created

Four new Radio Academy Fellows created

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

The Radio Academy has given out four new Fellowships – to Ric Blaxill, Phil Critchlow, Dave Walters and Maria Williams.

The honours – the highest that the Radio Academy can award – were announced on Tuesday night at the Radio Festival’s ‘Wrecking Ball Cabaret’, hosted by Michael Ball.

Ric Blaxill, now with Bauer, has had a career that’s taken in Radio 1, Top of the Pops, SMTV and BBC Radio 6 Music. Phil Critchlow now runs his own independent production company – TBI Media – after previously working for the BBC Radio 5, the World Service and Unique Broadcasting.

Dave Walters is Technology Controller for BBC Audio and Music and was previously Head of Broadcast Technology and IT at Global Radio. And Maria Williams is the founder of Soundwomen and has produced programmes for all of the BBC’s network radio stations, such as Woman’s Hour and Saturday Live, as well as working for indie Wise Buddah.

Other awards given out on the night were the PRS for Music Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio which went to 6 Music’s Giles Peterson; the Radio Academy Local & Regional Lifetime Achievement Award which went to Free Radio’s Jo Russell; and the PPL Music Icon Award which was given to Elbow’s Guy Garvey who also does radio shows for 6 Music.

There was also music from The Shires, rapper Kapital and the host of the night Michael Ball. Absolute Radio’s Alan Cochrane did a stand-up comedy set too at the event, which was held inside the BBC’s Quay House building at MediaCityUK.

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design