Sunday, July 14, 2024
Home Industry Shortlist out for Broadcasting Press Guild’s radio awards

Shortlist out for Broadcasting Press Guild’s radio awards

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

It’s a case of commercial radio vs BBC radio in this year’s two Broadcasting Press Guild’s radio awards.

In the Radio Programme of the Year category, BBC Radio 4, 5 live and LBC are on the shortlist whilst Sean Rafferty from BBC Radio 3, Jane Garvey from BBC Radio 4, and Geoff Lloyd from Absolute Radio battle it out.

The podcast Serial was discussed for the shortlist but unfortunatley for the producers, the BPG Awards honour and reward great programming commissioned in the UK only.

The awards, which are chosen by journalists who write about TV and radio (including RadioToday’s Roy Martin), are sponsored by Discovery Channel. The winners will be announced on 13 March, ahead of the awards lunch at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

The shortlist:

Radio Programme of the Year:

Germany: Memories of a Nation (BBC Radio 4)
Duncan Barkes (LBC)
Kermode and Mayo’s Film Review (BBC Radio 5 Live).

Radio Broadcaster of the Year:

Jane Garvey, Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4)
Sean Rafferty, In Tune (BBC Radio 3)
Geoff Lloyd, Geoff Lloyd’s Hometime Show (Absolute Radio).

The winners of the 2015 BPG Awards

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design