Monday, July 22, 2024
Home Awards The IRN Awards 2015 – Full winners list

The IRN Awards 2015 – Full winners list

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

Three commercial radio news teams are celebrating retaining their titles at the IRN Awards 2015 in association with Sky News.

Global’s Newsroom in Wales was named ‘News Team/Newsroom of the Year with a TSA of over one million’ for the second consecutive year. The judges described it as a “deserving winner” because the team showed it could initiate and deliver an original investigation as well as pursue news making interviews on stories that would resonate nationally.”

Radio Aire in Leeds followed suit by picking up the ‘News Team of the Year with a TSA of under one million.’ “The team delivers a great range of stories, imaginatively told with verve and authority” according to the judges who said Aire’s journalists “originate stories as well as react to what’s happening around them.”

And Global Radio’s Entertainment Team retained the ‘Best Entertainment Coverage’ prize with judges commending its “impressive range of subjects” and clear storytelling “from the red carpet to intimate interviews in the studio.”

The ‘Best News Special or Feature’ was won by Hallam FM for its investigation into prostitution in Sheffield. The judges said it was a “hugely impressive piece of broadcasting” and “a stand out example of radio journalism.”

Lauren Jones from Global’s Newsroom Wales was named ‘Reporter of the Year.’ According to the judges she “handles stories skilfully” pointing to her interview with the father of a British jihadi. They said she has “bundles of energy and determination – just what local reporters should possess.”

Key 103’s interview with a local gangster who scaled the Big Wheel in Manchester city centre in an apparent protest won the “Best Interview” award. The judging panel thought it was an “utterly compelling listen” that was “both funny and full of local detail.”

The winner of the Best Sports Coverage was 102.4 Wish FM for the 2014 Super League Grand Final. A combination of “spine tingling commentary, a great mix of music and fun, quirky pieces with the players” was enough to persuade the judges.

The Newsreading Awards went to LBC’s Simon Conway in the “Over 1 million TSA” category and Bethan Davies from Radio Aire in the “Under 1 million” alternative. Judges described Conway as a “confident and compelling presenter” while Davies was praised for being “an unflappable newsreader” with “amazing talent.”

Bev Rimmer from BOB FM Hertfordshire was named “Newcomer of the Year” because she’s “passionate, brilliant and well rounded.” She was also nominated in the Best Reporter category.

The IRN Gold Award was presented to Ralph Bernard CBE for an outstanding contribution to the commercial radio industry in a career spanning 35 years.

Commenting on the awards, IRN Managing Director, Tim Molloy, said: This year’s winners all deserve praise for upholding the very best standards in radio journalism. Whether reporting from the scene or calmly delivering a studio bulletin with authority, all of them knew how to communicate an important story to their audience.

IRN Editor Dave Terris said: There were some outstanding entries which prove commercial radio news is alive and kicking. The pursuit of original stories, the desire to be distinctive and the ability to engage audiences with great story telling means the winners had to be at the top of their game. Entries get better every year and competition is fierce – and that bodes well for the future.

The winners in full:

IRN Gold Award
Ralph Bernard CBE

News Team/Newsroom of the Year (Over 1m TSA)
Global’s Newsroom Wales

News Team/Newsroom of the Year (Under 1m TSA)
Radio Aire

Best News Special or Feature
Prostitution Uncovered – Hallam FM

Reporter of the Year
Lauren Jones – Global’s Newsroom Wales

Best Sports Coverage
Super League Grand Final 2014 – 102.4 Wish FM

Best Entertainment Coverage
Global Radio Entertainment Team

Best Interview
A Wheel Manchester Gangster – Key 103

Newsreader of the Year (Over 1m TSA)
Simon Conway – LBC

Newsreader of the Year (Under 1m TSA)
Bethan Davies – Radio Aire

Newcomer of the Year
Bev Rimmer – BOB FM Hertfordshire

The entire event was streamed live from RadioTodayLive and the audio is being looped via for catch-up.

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design