Saturday, July 20, 2024
Home Awards Shortlist out for the Broadcasting Press Guild audio awards 2022

Shortlist out for the Broadcasting Press Guild audio awards 2022

by RadioToday UK
0 comment

The nominations are out for this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) audio awards, encompassing radio and podcasts.

Presenters Petroc Trelawney, Vick Hope and Jamz Supernova, and journalists Amol Rajan, Aasmah Mir, Iain Dale and Jon Ronson are among the nominees.

Amol Rajan from BBC Radio 4 has been nominated as Audio Presenter of the Year, alongside Aasmah Mir who presents Times Radio Breakfast with Stig Abell, Iain Dale of LBC, Petroc Trelawny of BBC Radio 3 and Vick Hope of BBC Radio 1.

Aasmah Mir and Stig Abell with Times Radio Breakfast is also nominated as Radio Programme of the Year, alongside Jamz Supernova on 6 (BBC 6 Music), The Eco Show (Marlow FM 97.5) Uncanny with Danny Robins (BBC Radio 4) and Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4).

The chair of the BPG audio jury, journalist and broadcaster Scott Bryan, said: “Once again the jury, consisting of many of the best critics and writers in the country, were blown away with the quality and variety of audio on offer. Whittling down our longlist of entries to our eventual shortlist and winner in each category was a bit of a nightmare, but it just goes to show the strength of British audio at the moment.”

The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards – for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and screened in 2021 – are prized by programme-makers because they are chosen independently by radio and TV correspondents, critics and previewers.

The 48th annual BPG Awards ceremony – attended by the winners, BPG members and guests – will take place at lunchtime on Friday March 25th 2022 at The Brewery in the City of London, supported by YouTube.

The full list of nominations is:

Radio Programme of the Year

  • Jamz Supernova on 6 (BBC Radio 6 Music)
  • Aasmah Mir and Stig Abell with Times Radio Breakfast (Times Radio)
  • The Eco Show (Marlow FM 97.5)
  • Uncanny, with Danny Robins (BBC Radio 4)
  • Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4)

UK Podcast of the Year

  • Backlisted (Unbound)
  • Finding Q: My Journey into QAnon (Audible)
  • Sweet Bobby (Tortoise Media)
  • The Rest Is History (Goalhanger Films)
  • Things Fell Apart – Jon Ronson (BBC Radio 4 and BBC Sounds)

Audio Presenter of the Year

  • Aasmah Mir (Times Radio)
  • Amol Rajan (BBC Radio 4)
  • Iain Dale (LBC)
  • Petroc Trelawny (BBC Radio 3)
  • Vick Hope (BBC Radio 1)

Previous winners of the BPG Radio/Audio Broadcaster award include Alistair Cooke, Sir Terry Wogan, Sue Lawley, Samira Ahmed, James O’Brien, Jane Garvey, Emma Barnett, Nick Ferrari, Eddie Mair, Lauren Laverne, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Charlotte Green, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Kirsty Young, Brian Redhead, Sir Mark Tully, Sandy Toksvig, John Finnemore, Michael Buerk, Susannah Simons and Clara Amfo.

You may also like

Soledad is the Best Newspaper and Magazine WordPress Theme with tons of options and demos ready to import. This theme is perfect for blogs and excellent for online stores, news, magazine or review sites. Buy Soledad now!

u00a92022 Soledad, A Media Company – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Penci Design